It is not just about material riches

I tell you the truth, it is very hard for a rich person to enter the kingdom of heaven. I’ll say it again – it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich person to enter the kingdom of God (Matthew 19:23-24 NLT)

WAS Jesus talking about riches in just material possessions and cash? I do not think so! But do not take my word; let’s take a look at the Bible to confirm.

Just like many others, I used to think it was just about riches in monetary and material possessions. But as I began to consider the disciples’ question, it dawned on me that Jesus may not have been talking about just riches in material and monetary possessions.

The disciples in verse 25 asked; “then who in the world can be saved?” Wait a minute, who in the world can be saved? If Jesus was talking about material and financial riches only, then the disciples’ question suggests EVERYONE at that time was rich. But the Bible paints a different picture. In John 12:5, Judas Iscariot, while complaining about using a bottle of perfume worth millions in today’s currency to annoint Jesus said, “That perfume was worth a year’s wage. It should have been sold and the money given to the poor” (NLT). There were poor people in Jesus’ days. The question, who in the world can be saved thus points to the fact that Jesus may have been talking about not just material and monetary riches.

If Jesus was not talking about material riches only, what kind of riches was he talking about? It seems to me Jesus was talking about the kind of riches that the eye may not be able to see readily.

  1. Riches in idolatry. Some of us are rich with several gods. Things we place above and value more than the living God. The young man in our scripture falls into this group. His money was his god. For some, children are the god they worship. For some, it is their beauty. Then some have the actual man-made gods, calved from wood, sewn from animal skin, moulded from clay or some precious metal. These gods, they faithfully worship.
  2. Riches in immorality. There is hardly an immoral act they have not practiced or an immoral word they have not uttered. They can be so rich they employ others to further expand their immoral empires. The madam that lend young women to men, the young man that arranges ladies for senior executives, and all those who patronise them are full of riches in immorality. This is but a tip of the iceberg of riches in immorality.
  3. Rich in wickedness. You dare not cross them and go unscathed. Forgiveness is never part of their diction. Vengeance is the first and last word in their dictionary. Destruction is the signature of their presence. Unhappiness follows their footsteps. Wherever they go, whatever they do, wickedness is found.

These, to me, are some (an infinitesimal part of) the rich people Jesus said will find it hard to enter heaven. But there is hope. Jesus did not say it is impossible. They need to do just one thing to gain entrance to heaven; Give Up Their Riches.

It is simple to give up these riches, say this prayer from a sincere heart:

Heavenly Father, you have shown to me that I am rich with possessions that will impede and even prevent my entry into heaven. I lay all these riches before you this day. Take them away from me that I may become poor and ready for heaven. Thank you for answering me. In Jesus’ name I pray, amen.

Congratulations and welcome to the heaven’s ready congregation.


I invite you to share your thoughts with others as it concerns this write-up:

  • Drop your comment in the comments box below;
  • OR Drop your comments on the Rivelazioni Facebook Wall;
  • OR Leave me a Facebook Message Here;
  • OR Send me a mail ameneterh@gmail.com
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment